Concentration Camps Today

(Soviet) Tajikistan

Capital: Dushanbe
(1 concentration camp, 2 prisons)

Death camps: 5
• Asht (underground uranium mine)
• Bekabad (uranium mine [underground] & enrichment facility)
• Leninabad (uranium mine [underground] & enrichment facility)
• Sovetabad (underground uranium mine)
• Zeravshan (uranium mine [underground] & enrichment facility)

(death by radiation poisoning in all 5)

Forced-labor concentration camps: 7
• 1 for women and children (Dushanbe)

Torture-facility prisons: 2


Shifrin, A., The First Guidebook to Prisons and Concentration Camps of the Soviet Union, Bantam Books, New York, 1982.